About Gerken

FROM CRAFTSMEN FOR CRAFTSMEN

1963
Jan 01

Manfred Gerken opens his first painting company in Düsseldorf

In 1963 Manfred Gerken opened his first painting business in Duesseldorf. After the business had already existed for 25 years, the business acquired its own work platform, particularly in order to carry out work on facades more quickly and cost-effectively. Furthermore, the equipment was gladly lent to colleagues when it wasn’t being used. After only a short time, more and more handicraft businesses began to appreciate the advantages of the work platform. The demand was so great that the business invested in another machine. However, those were not to be the only two as time would quickly tell.

1989
Jan 01

Founding of Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung (Work Platform Rentals)

Founding of Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung (Work Platform Rentals)

In 1989 Manfred Gerken decided to shift his main focus of work to renting out work platforms and founded the Gerken Arbeitsbuehnenvermietung (Work Platform Rentals) in the Ronsdorfer Straße in Duesseldorf. His idea was to rent out only technically high-quality, especially well-maintained and reliable machinery.

1990
Jan 01

The concept

The concept

The concept was a success and between 1990 and 1997 additional branch offices were established in Cologne, Halle, Duisburg and Dueren in order to be able to handle the continuously growing demand. Meanwhile, the equipment pool of the Gerken Arbeitsbuehnenvermietung grew to 417 vehicles. In this phase, the investments were already strongly geared to the demand of the clientele. Consequentially, the chance was taken in 1996 and an investment was made in the largest self drive work platform in the world. Its working height amounted to 48 metres – a tremendous height for that time.    

Jan 01

Christian Gerken

In 1990 the company’s founder’s son, Christian Gerken, joined the business.

1998
Jan 01

Invest in the latest technology

Due to the claim to always invest in the latest technology, there was a constant change in the vehicle fleet. As of 1988, the replaced machinery was sold as second-hand equipment by the newly established subsidiary company GS Arbeitsbuehnen. Therefore, the first professional sales centre for used work platforms was positioned in Hilden, near the headquarters in Duesseldorf. In 1998, the Gerken Baustellen-Absperr-Service (Site Securing Service) was established as an additional service offer for clients and situated itself, logistically ideal, in Duisburg.

1999
Jan 01

The Dutch branch

The Dutch branch

In 1999, the first steps were taken into other European countries: The Dutch branch office in Elsloo, with an ideal location in the boarder triangle near Maastricht, and has its own repair shop and service areas.

2000
Jan 01

Further branch in Leipzig

Further branch in Leipzig

Other large scale equipment such as an 84 metre high, truck mounted work platform was added to the vehicle fleet in the year 2000. Gerken opened another branch office in Leipzig to make allowance for the increasing demand in the new federal states.

2001
Jan 01

Berlin Gerken branch

The opening of the Gerken branch office in Berlin took place in 2001, as the construction boom set in. With the investment in the largest truck mounted work platform with a 100 metre working height, Gerken has one of only two existing machines of this size worldwide.

2003
Jan 01

Gerken-Rental Service

2003 is the year: Regular and new clients can now rent equipment such as power generators, forklifts or containers directly with the work platform, using the Gerken rental service.

2004
Jan 01

Self-propelled telescopic work platform

The preparations for the World Cup in the year 2004 were running at full speed. Stadiums had to be reconstructed and modernised. Gerken invested in the worldwide highest self drive telescopic work platform, with a working height of 43 metres. More massive designs allow for high basket capacities: The first 70 metre truck mounted work platform with a 1000 kg basket capacity found its way into the Gerken vehicle fleet.

2005
Jan 01

20,000 square meter branch in Neuss

20,000 square meter branch in Neuss

Meanwhile, in the year 2005 the giant vehicle fleet with over 1,500 machines requires optimised technical and logistic solutions. So the new 20,000 square metre large branch in Neuss is established, ideally located in the intersection of the most important transportation routes of Central Europe. The industrial equipment as well as the Gerken owned low-bed trailer fleet are based here. The newly opened central repair workshop with 24 service technicians ensures the delivery of exclusively well-maintained and reliable machinery. Distributive trade with used work platforms is now also managed from Neuss: GS Arbeitsbuehnen also moves into new offices on the new business premises.

2008
Jan 01

Försterweg in Hamburg

As of 2008, Gerken is also present in Northern Germany: On 1/1/2008 the new branch office opens on Foersterweg in Hamburg. Ten employees implement the clientele’s requests, and the company-owned repair workshop guarantees the consistent high standard of the machinery.

2009
Jan 01

Conurbations Frankfurt and Nuremberg

Conurbations Frankfurt and Nuremberg

The increased demand for Gerken work platforms in the metropolitan areas of Frankfurt and Nuremberg induce Gerken to open yet another branch office in Marktheidenfeld, which is conveniently located, in regard to transport facilities, just outside of Wuerzburg. The new Gerken base, with emphasis on industrial equipment, has several of its own low-bed trailers and can deliver work platforms on-site at short notice. Located directly on the autobahn (motorway) A 3, the branch office has an ideal connection; the surrounding metropolitan areas can be reached in no time at all.  From October 2009 Gerken looks forward to serving its customers with a new branch in the Ruhr area metropolis of Essen.  

2010
Jan 01

Largest work platforms worldwide

Largest work platforms worldwide

In April 2010 one of the largest work platforms worldwide, the GL 103, with a 103 metre working height will be incorporated into the Gerken vehicle park. Based on a Tadano Faun chassis and equipped with four powered axles and 530 HP, the GL 103 also masters difficult underground situations.

Jan 01

Branch in Magdeburg

Branch in Magdeburg

The new GL 27 which offers a 27 metre working height on a 3.5t chassis celebrates its world premiere at the BAUMA in July 2010. Gerken is also expanding into the east of Germany in 2010, enlarging its branch network. The new branch in Magdeburg is attractively positioned right on the A2 motorway.  

2012
Jan 01

GT 480-25 AkLPG

GT 480-25 AkLPG

In 2012 we will continue to heavily invest in supplies. Several of the tallest available telescopic work platforms, the new GT 480-25 AkLPG, have been added to the Gerken rental fleet.

2013
Jan 01

Branch in Bremerhaven

With the opening of the branch in Bremerhaven – one of the most important ports of export in Europe – Gerken has strengthened its position in northern Germany. From January 2013, we offer the complete range of work platforms in all sizes and for almost all purposes. In autumn 2013, Gerken GmbH will be celebrating its 50th anniversary. What initially began as a painting business in 1963 has developed into a European based working platform hire-company. The services available within Gerken’s working platform hire cover more than 4200 machines, including a broad range of specialist and large platforms. Gerken is leading company worldwide, offering large apparatus equipment measuring over 60 metres.  

2014
Jan 12

50 different forklift models

50 different forklift models

In spring 2014, the GTSR 300-50 arrives at the rental park as largest rotor telescope lift so far, with a lifting capacity of 30 metres. Gerken is now offering almost 50 different forklift models for rent. Things keep on going up and beyond in the work platform segment as well. A milestone in the art of engineering is reached with the telescopic work platform GT 570-25 AkLPG: with its 57 metres it represents the highest self-propelled work platform worldwide.

2015
Jan 01

GS 330-14 WALS

GS 330-14 WALS

In 2015, Gerken once again offered a world record, namely its scissor work platform GS 330-14 WALS: with a width of only 1.4 metres, the machine reaches a working height of 33 metres. With five new heavy load lift models, Gerken upgraded its rental programme to lifting capacities of up to 12,000 kilogrammes. The lasting demand for machinery required new operating sites in the conurbations of Frankfurt and Dortmund, where Gerken inaugurated branch offices with their own service networks in mid-2015.  

2016
Jan 01

Truck-mounted platform GL 29 H

Truck-mounted platform GL 29 H

The year 2016 started with a large-scale investment in more than 500 new machines from all categories. Gerken placed the largest order ever in the company’s history with the work platforms manufacturer Ruthmann: 45 truck-mounted work platforms in one single order. With the truck-mounted work platform GL 29 H, Gerken becomes the first lessor offering working heights of up to 29 metres on a 3.5t-chassis in mid-2016. From now on, these and other machines can be rented at the new branch office in Dusseldorf-Heerdt.    

2017
Jan 01

Mini and crawler cranes

Mini and crawler cranes

In January 2017 for the first time, mini cranes and crawler cranes have joined the company’s rental programme. By investing in a large number of these models, Gerken responds to the demand from the metal and window construction industry and delivers an impressive performance right from the start. The container systems business segment has performed excellently in the last years. With the expansion of the existing premises at Jagenbergstraße 21 by another 13,000 square metres, the company will be able to satisfy customer needs and individual container system solution requirements even faster and more efficiently in the future.

Über Gerken

VON HANDWERKERN FÜR HANDWERKER

1963
Jan 01

Manfred Gerken eröffnet seinen ersten Malerbetrieb in Düsseldorf

1963 eröffnete Manfred Gerken seinen ersten Malerbetrieb in Düsseldorf. Nachdem das Unternehmen bereits 25 Jahre bestand, wurde eine eigene Arbeitsbühne angeschafft, um insbesondere Fassadenarbeiten schneller und kosteneffizienter ausführen zu können. Darüber hinaus wurde das Gerät, wenn es nicht selbst benötigt wurde, gerne Kollegen leihweise überlassen. Bereits nach kurzer Zeit schätzten immer mehr Handwerksbetriebe die Vorteile der Arbeitsbühne. Die Nachfrage war so groß, dass in eine weitere Maschine investiert wurde. Es blieb allerdings nicht bei diesen ersten zwei Bühnen, wie sich schnell zeigen sollte.

1989
Jan 01

Gründung die Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung

Gründung die Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung

1989 beschloß Manfred Gerken, seinen Arbeitsschwerpunkt ganz auf die Vermietung von Arbeitsbühnen zu verlagern und gründete die Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung auf der Ronsdorfer Straße in Düsseldorf. Seine Idee war, ausschließlich technisch hochwertige und vor allem gepflegte und zuverlässige Maschinen zu vermieten.

1990
Jan 01

Das Konzept

Das Konzept

Das Konzept ging auf und so kamen zwischen 1990 und 1997 weitere Niederlassungen in Köln, Halle, Duisburg und Düren hinzu, um die stetig wachsende Nachfrage bewältigen zu können. Der Gerätepark der Gerken Arbeitsbühnenvermietung war derweilen auf 417 Fahrzeuge angewachsen. Bereits in dieser Phase orientierten sich die Investitionen stark an der Nachfrage der Kundschaft. Folgerichtig wagte man 1996 den Schritt und investierte in die größte selbstfahrende Arbeitsbühne der Welt. Ihre Arbeitshöhe betrug 48 Meter – eine gigantische Höhe in dieser Zeit.  

Jan 01

Christian Gerken

1990 trat auch der Sohn des Firmengründers, Christian Gerken, in den Betrieb ein.

1998
Jan 01

Investieren in neueste Technik

Durch den Anspruch, immer in neueste Technik zu investieren, herrschte ein stetiger Wechsel im Fuhrpark. Ab 1998 wurden die ausgewechselten Maschinen durch die neu gegründete Tochterfirma GS Arbeitsbühnen als Geräte aus zweiter Hand veräußert. Das somit erste professionelle Vertriebszentrum für gebrauchte Arbeitsbühnen wurde in Hilden, nahe der Düsseldorfer Zentrale, positioniert. Als weiteres Serviceangebot an den Kunden wurde 1998 der Gerken-Baustellen-Absperr-Service gegründet und, logistisch optimal, in Duisburg angesiedelt.  

1999
Jan 01

Die niederländische Niederlassung

Die niederländische Niederlassung

1999 folgte dann der Schritt ins europäische Ausland: Die niederländische Niederlassung in Elsloo, mit idealer Lage im Dreiländereck in der Nähe von Maastricht, verfügt über eine eigene Werkstatt und Service-Bereiche.

2000
Jan 01

Weitere Niederlassung in Leipzig

Weitere Niederlassung in Leipzig

Weitere Großgeräte wie eine 84 Meter hohe LKW-Arbeitsbühne ergänzten den Fuhrpark im Jahr 2000. In Leipzig eröffnete Gerken eine weitere Niederlassung, um der steigenden Nachfrage in den neuen Bundesländern Rechnung zu tragen.

2001
Jan 01

Berliner Gerken-Niederlassung

Mit dem einsetzenden Bau-Boom in Berlin erfolgte 2001 die Eröffnung der Berliner Gerken-Niederlassung. Mit der Investition in die mit 100 Meter Arbeitshöhe größte LKW-Arbeitsbühne verfügt Gerken über eine der beiden weltweit existierenden Maschinen dieser Größe.

2003
Jan 01

Gerken-Mietservice

2003 ist es soweit: Bestands- und Neukunden können nun auf den Baustellen benötigtes Equipment wie Stromerzeuger, Gabelstapler oder Container direkt mit der Arbeitsbühne über den Gerken-Mietservice anmieten.

2004
Jan 01

Selbstfahrende Teleskop-Arbeitsbühne

Die Vorbereitungen zur Weltmeisterschaft liefen im Jahr 2004 auf Hochtouren, Stadien mussten umgebaut und modernisiert werden. Gerken investiert in die weltweit höchste selbstfahrende Teleskop-Arbeitsbühne mit 43 Metern Arbeitshöhe. Massivere Konstruktionen erlauben hohe Korblasten: In den Gerken Fuhrpark hält die erste 70-Meter-LKW-Arbeitsbühne mit 1000 kg Korblast Einzug.

2005
Jan 01

20.000 Quadratmeter große Niederlassung in Neuss

20.000 Quadratmeter große Niederlassung in Neuss

Der inzwischen riesige Fuhrpark mit über 1.500 Maschinen erfordert im Jahr 2005 optimierte technische und logistische Lösungen. So wird die neue 20.000 Quadratmeter große Niederlassung in Neuss errichtet, optimal im Schnittpunkt der wichtigsten Verkehrswege Zentraleuropas gelegen. Hier sind die Industriegeräte sowie die Gerken-eigene Tiefladerflotte stationiert. Die neu errichtete Zentralwerkstatt mit 24 Monteuren garantiert die Auslieferung ausschließlich top gepflegter und zuverlässiger Maschinen. Auch der Handel mit gebrauchten Arbeitsbühnen wird nun von Neuss aus gesteuert: GS Arbeitsbühnen bezieht in der neuen Niederlassung ebenfalls neue Geschäftsräume.

2008
Jan 01

Försterweg in Hamburg

Ab 2008 ist Gerken auch im Norden Deutschlands präsent: Am 1. Januar eröffnet die neue Niederlassung auf dem Försterweg in Hamburg. Zehn Mitarbeiter setzen die Kundenwünsche um, die eigene Werkstatt garantiert den gleichbleibend hohen Standard der Maschinen.

2009
Jan 01

Ballungsräumen Frankfurt und Nürnberg

Ballungsräumen Frankfurt und Nürnberg

Die gestiegene Nachfrage nach Gerken-Arbeitsbühnen in den Ballungsräumen Frankfurt und Nürnberg bewegt Gerken dazu, im April 2009 eine weitere Niederlassung in Marktheidenfeld, verkehrsgünstig vor den Toren von Würzburg gelegen, zu eröffnen. Der neue Gerken-Stützpunkt mit dem Schwerpunkt Industriegeräte verfügt über mehrere eigene Tieflader und kann Arbeitsbühnen vor Ort kurzfristig ausliefern. Direkt an der Autobahn A 3 gelegen, ist die Niederlassung perfekt angebunden; die umliegenden Ballungsräume sind in kürzester Zeit zu erreichen. Ab Oktober 2009 kommt Gerken mit einer neuen Niederlassung in der Ruhrgebiets-Metropole Essen seinen Kunden entgegen.

2010
Jan 01

Weltweit größte Arbeitsbühne

Weltweit größte Arbeitsbühne

Im April 2010 wird eine der weltweit größten Arbeitsbühnen, die GL 103 mit 103 Meter Arbeitshöhe, in den Gerken Fuhrpark aufgenommen. Basierend auf einem Tadano Faun Fahrgestell und ausgestattet mit vier angetriebenen Achsen und 530 PS, meistert die GL 103 auch schwierige Untergrund-Situationen.

Jan 01

Niederlassung in Magdeburg

Niederlassung in Magdeburg

Die neue GL 27, die 27-Meter-Arbeitshöhe auf einem 3,5-t-Fahrgestell bietet, feiert im Juli 2010 Weltpremiere auf der BAUMA. Auch im Osten Deutschlands expandiert Gerken in 2010 weiter und vergrößert sein Niederlassungsnetz. Die neue Niederlassung in Magdeburg findet direkt an der BAB 2 einen attraktiven Standort.

2012
Jan 01

GT 480-25 AkLPG

GT 480-25 AkLPG

2012 wird auch weiterhin stark in das Angebot investiert: Gleich mehrere der höchsten am Markt verfügbaren Teleskop-Arbeitsbühne, der neuen GT 480-25 AkLPG, wurden in den Gerken Mietpark aufgenommen.

2013
Jan 01

Niederlassung in Bremerhaven

Mit der Eröffnung der Niederlassung in Bremerhaven, einem der wichtigsten Exporthäfen Europas, verstärkt Gerken das Engagement in Norddeutschland. Ab Januar 2013 wird dort ein komplettes Programm von Arbeitsbühnen in allen Größen und für nahezu jeden Verwendungszweck angeboten. Im Herbst 2013 feiert die Gerken GmbH ihr 50-jähriges Bestehen. Was 1963 als Malerbetrieb begann, hat sich zu einer europaweit agierenden Arbeitsbühnen-Vermietung entwickelt. Das Angebot der Gerken Arbeitsbühnen-Vermietung umfasst heute mehr als 4.200 Maschinen, darunter ein breites Spektrum von Spezial- und Großbühnen. Im Bereich der Großgeräte über 60 Meter ist Gerken weltweit führend.

2014
Jan 12

50 verschiedene Gabelstapler-Modelle

50 verschiedene Gabelstapler-Modelle

Im Frühjahr 2014 kommt mit dem GTSR 300-50 der bislang größte Rotor-Teleskopstapler mit 30 Meter Hubhöhe in den Mietpark. Gerken bietet nun fast 50 verschiedene Gabelstapler-Modelle zur Miete an. Bei den Arbeitsbühnen geht es ebenfalls weiter hoch hinaus. Mit der Teleskop-Arbeitsbühne GT 570-25 AkLPG wird ein Meilenstein der Ingenieurskunst gelegt: Sie ist mit 57 Metern die höchste selbstfahrende Arbeitsbühne der Welt. Auf ihrem Expansionskurs übernimmt die Gerken Gruppe den norddeutschen Arbeitsbühnenvermieter Willenbrock. Unter dem Namen Nordwest Lift laufen die Geschäfte im Norddeutschen weiter auf Erfolgskurs.  

2015
Jan 01

GS 330-14 WALS

GS 330-14 WALS

Mit der Scheren-Arbeitsbühne GS 330-14 WALS ist 2015 wieder ein Weltrekord bei Gerken mietbar. Bei einer Breite von nur 1,40 Metern erreicht die Maschine eine Arbeitshöhe von 33 Metern. Mit fünf neuen Schwerlaststapler-Modellen bietet Gerken im Mietpark nun Hublasten bis zu 12.000 Kilogramm an. Die andauernde Nachfrage nach Maschinen erfordert neue Standorte in den Ballungsräumen Frankfurt und Dortmund, wo Gerken Mitte 2015 Niederlassungen mit eigenem Servicenetz eröffnet.

2016
Jan 01

LKW-Arbeitsbühne GL 29 H

LKW-Arbeitsbühne GL 29 H

Das Jahr 2016 beginnt mit einer Großinvestition in über 500 Neugeräte aus allen Kategorien. Beim Arbeitsbühnen-Hersteller Ruthmann platziert Gerken den größten Auftrag der Firmengeschichte und bestellt auf einen Schlag 45 LKW-Arbeitsbühnen. Mitte des Jahres bietet Gerken als erster Vermieter mit der LKW-Arbeitsbühne GL 29 H Arbeitshöhen von 29 Metern auf einem 3,5-t-Fahrgestell an. Diese und weitere Maschinen sind fortan auch in der neuen Niederlassung in Düsseldorf-Heerdt mietbar.

2017
Jan 01

Mini- und Raupenkrane

Mini- und Raupenkrane

Im Januar 2017 verstärken erstmals auch Mini- und Raupenkrane das Angebot. Mit der Investition in zahlreiche dieser Modelle reagiert Gerken auf die Nachfrage von Metall- und Fensterbauern und kann sofort bei den ersten Einsätzen überzeugen. Der Geschäftsbereich Raumsysteme hat sich in den letzten Jahren hervorragend entwickelt. Mit der Erweiterung des bestehenden Betriebsgeländes an der Jagenbergstraße 21 um weitere 13.000 Quadratmeter können zukünftig Kundenanforderungen und individuelle Raumsystem-Lösungen noch besser und schneller befriedigt werden.